Workforce, training and education
Yorkshire and Humber

Specialty Training in Anaesthesia - Recruitment


Yorkshire and the Humber is a geographically large region - anaesthesia training is separated into three localities or hubs centred around each of the Tertiary Hospitals.

These three locations are termed  Leeds Hub (West Yorkshire), Hull Hub (North and East Yorkshire) and Sheffield Hub (South Yorkshire). Details of the hospitals within each “hub” area are detailed in the “about my school” section.

Yorkshire advertises ST4 Anaesthesia posts twice annually - for February and August Intakes. Specialty Training in Anaesthesia is a 4 year programme (details can be found on the RCOA website). Completion of the programme will result in a Certificate of Completion of Training in Anaesthesia, and will permit application for Consultant posts in Anaesthesia.

Posts available are advertised on ANRO, and will be detailed as Sheffield Hub rotations, Leeds Hub rotations and Hull Hub rotations. The posts will specify the location of the first 3 years of training. The 4th year is not specified and will depend on advanced module preference. All posts will include 6-12 months in an adjacent hub.

Details of the hospitals on each rotation can be found in the “About your programme” section, as can information about the changes to the rotation that were made in 2018. Please note the hospitals rotated through during ST4-7 are slightly different to those rotated through at Core/ACCS level. 

Interviews have been conducted online since 2021.

National recruitment process can be accessed by visiting the RCOA webpages and/or National recruitment website.


The job specification and self assessment criteria are updated annually, so please check the relevant websites to have up to date information