School of Anaesthesia
Yorkshire and The Humber


The School of Anaesthesia is responsible for the delivery of training in Anaesthesia in West, North, South and East Yorkshire and North Lincolnshire.

Yorkshire is a vast area with a population of approximately 5 million and 21 major hospitals. There are 3 regional training programmes within the School based around the teaching hospitals in each region namely the East (Hull), West (Leeds) and South (Sheffield). Each programme provides training in all areas of the 2010 curriculum, has well organised teaching and enviable exam pass rates.

Recruitment to core training and specialist training is a national process, information about which can be found on the Specialty Recruitment site. Timescales, vacancies, person specifications and how to apply can all be found here. More information about recruitment arrangements can be found by contacting the Training Programme Directors from each region.