Workforce, training and education
Yorkshire and Humber

Stroke Medicine Sub-specialty.

Sub-specialty Stroke Medicine in Yorkshire and the Humber

Stroke Medicine encompasses elements of neurology, cardiovascular disease, ageing and rehabilitation and the primary purpose of sub-specialist training is to promote the development of physicians with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to function as an expert consultant resource within specialist stroke services. 

This programme is open to all trainees holding MRCP (UK) or equivalent and an NTN in a relevant medical specialty, namely Geriatric Medicine, Neurology, Rehabilitation Medicine, Cardiology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, or General Internal Medicine. The background specialty of such clinicians is considered to be less important than the possession of those competencies needed to provide a specialist stroke service. After satisfactory completion of Subspecialty training in Stroke Medicine, trainees would be eligible to have the Subspecialty of Stroke Medicine included in their entry in the GMC's Specialist Register, after the award of a CCT in their parent specialty.

Stroke Medicine sub-specialty accreditation is an additional qualification (involving a total of 24 months training; 12 months in the parent specialty and a further 1 year period in an approved advanced stroke training post). This ‘advanced year' is usually undertaken in the penultimate or final year of the trainee's parent specialty training and whilst still retaining an NTN in their parent specialty. This will enable the trainee to complete sub-specialty certification in Stroke Medicine.

In order to assess your suitability for this training programme please refer to the national Person Specifications on the Specialty Training website.

The duration of this sub training programme is 1 year. The actual duration may depend on the circumstances of individual trainees.


Further sources of information

The Recruitment Process

Thames Valley are leading the recruitment across England, Scotland and Wales. 

Please refer to the Physician Higher Specialty Training Recruitment webpage for more information.


The vacancy information is available on the Physician Higher Specialty Training Recruitment website

Programme Information

Training Locations

A list of the trusts and training locations within the training programme is provided below:



Hospital Sites

Airedale NHS Foundation Trust Airedale General Hospital
Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Barnsley Hospital
Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  Bradford Royal Infirmary
St Luke’s Hospital
Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust  Calderdale Royal Hospital
Huddersfield Royal Infirmary
Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Chesterfield Royal Hospital
Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust   Bassetlaw Hospital
Doncaster Royal Infirmary
Montagu Hospital
Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust Harrogate District Hospital
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust  Castle Hill Hospital
Hull Royal Infirmary
Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Chapel Allerton Hospital
Leeds Dental Institute
Leeds General Infirmary
Seacroft Hospital
St James’ University Hospital
Wharfedale Hospital
Mid Yorkshire NHS Foundation Trust Dewsbury and District Hospital
Pinderfields Hospital
Pontefract Hospital
Northern Lincolnshire and Goole Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust   Diana, Princess of Wales Hospital
Goole and District Hospital
Scunthorpe General Hospital
The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust Rotherham Hospital
Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust The Sheffield Children’s Hospital
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Charles Clifford Dental Hospital
Jessop Wing
Northern General Hospital
Royal Hallamshire Hospital
Weston Park Hospital
York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Scarborough Hospital
The York Hospital